MAEMORIES

Awareness of the history of a place helps to create future-oriented living space. Therefore, the careful handling of the history of the conversion areas plays an important role in their transformation. The project MAEMORIES considers the history of the Americans and their impact on the life of the city with great respect. It preserves the view of the former US military areas as important evidence of Mannheim's city history.

MAEMORIES is one of three pillars of the active history project of the conversion areas ZEITSTROM, which arose from citizens' ideas as part of the white paper process and is intended to do justice to prehistory, present history and the future. MWSP has been responsible for the content design and implementation of the third pillar “US history / Americans in Mannheim” since 2018, which has now received a project name and logo with MAEMORIES. Municipal project partners are responsible for the other pillars, “Natural Time” and “Democracy and Globalization”.

MAEMORIES focuses on almost 70 years of city history in which the Americans were in Mannheim. More than 500,000 Americans came to the city to live and work here between 1945 and 2015. With the conversion of the former American military areas into new quarters for the society of Mannheim, the MWSP operates a future-oriented and at the same time history-conscious way of city development. Historical buildings and relics from the time of the Americans in Mannheim were preserved or kept on all conversion areas. Important mementoes go to the MAEMORIES archive.

The aim is to develop historical paths and exhibitions across the areas that deal with the rich and sometimes conflicted relationship history between the US military and Mannheim's society. Using central narrative strands and relevant places on TURLEY, TAYLOR, FRANKLIN and SPINELLI, the German-American relationship history will be told in an exemplary manner - with special consideration of the events and developments in Mannheim.

In the course of the new project name, the ZEITSTROM house located in FRANKLIN will also be renamed
HOUSE OF MAEMORIES and the external presentation will be changed shortly.

The logo developed in 2020 makes reference to the city of Mannheim and the US flag.

HOUSE OF MAEMORIES

With the HOUSE OF MAEMORIES, the MWSP established a public area in the building of the former FRANKLIN preschool for changing exhibitions, workshops and the city model of the future FRANKLIN district.

The HOUSE OF MAEMORIES is currently closed due to the Corona regulation.
We will announce the new opening in time.

The HOUSE OF MAEMORIES

Exhibition space

MAEMORIES

Das Bewusstsein für die Geschichte eines Ortes hilft, daraus zukunftsfähigen Lebensraum zu entwickeln. Deshalb spielt der sorgsame Umgang mit der Historie der Konversionsflächen eine wichtige Rolle bei deren Verwandlung. Das Projekt MAEMORIES betrachtet die Geschichte der Amerikaner und deren Auswirkung auf das Leben der Stadt mit großem Respekt. Es bewahrt den Blick für die ehemaligen USMilitärflächen als wichtige Zeugnisse der Mannheimer Stadtgeschichte.

MAEMORIES ist eine von drei Säulen des aktiven Geschichtsprojekts der Konversionsflächen ZEITSTROM, das im Rahmen des Weißbuchprozesses aus Bürgerideen entstanden ist und der Vorgeschichte, der Gegenwartsgeschichte sowie der Zukunft gerecht werden soll. Die MWSP betreut seit 2018 die inhaltliche Ausgestaltung und Umsetzung der dritten Säule US-Geschichte/ Amerikaner in Mannheim, welche nun mit MAEMORIES einen Projektnamen und ein Logo erhalten hat. Die weiteren Säulen ‚Naturzeit‘ und ‚Demokratie und Globalisierung‘ werden durch städtische Projektpartner verantwortet.

MAEMORIES konzentriert sich hierbei auf knapp 70 Jahre Stadtgeschichte, in denen die Amerikaner in Mannheim waren. Mehr als 500.000 Amerikaner kamen zwischen 1945 und 2015 in die Stadt, um hier zu leben und zu arbeiten. Mit der Konversion der ehemals amerikanischen Militärgebiete in neue Quartiere für die Mannheimer Stadtgesellschaft betreibt die MWSP eine zukunftsorientierte und zugleich geschichtsbewusste Art der Stadtentwicklung. Auf allen Konversionsflächen wurden historische Gebäude und Relikte aus der Zeit der Amerikaner in Mannheim erhalten bzw. aufbewahrt. Wichtige Erinnerungsstücke gehen ins MAEMORIES-Archiv. Ziel ist es, flächenübergreifend historische Wege sowie Ausstellungen zu entwickeln, die sich mit der reichhaltigen und zuweilen auch konfliktvollen Beziehungsgeschichte zwischen dem US-amerikanischen Militär und der Mannheimer Stadtgesellschaft befassen.

Anhand zentraler Erzählstränge und relevanter Orte auf TURLEY, TAYLOR, FRANKLIN und SPINELLI wird künftig die deutsch-amerikanische Beziehungsgeschichte exemplarisch erzählt werden – unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Ereignisse und Entwicklungen in Mannheim.

Im Zuge des neuen Projektnamens wird auch das auf FRANKLIN ansässige ZEITSTROM-Haus in
HOUSE OF MAEMORIES umbenannt und die Außendarstellung in Kürze geändert.

Das 2020 entwickelte Logo nimmt Bezug auf die Stadt Mannheim und die US-Flagge.

HOUSE OF MAEMORIES

Mit dem HOUSE OF MAEMORIES errichtete die MWSP im Gebäude der ehemaligen Vorschule FRANKLINs eine öffentliche Fläche für wechselnde Ausstellungen, Workshops sowie das Stadtmodell des zukünftigen Quartiers FRANKLIN.

Das HOUSE OF MAEMORIES ist derzeit aufgrund der Corona-Verordnung geschlossen.
Die Neueröffnung geben wir rechtzeitig bekannt.

Das HOUSE OF MAEMORIES

Ausstellungsfläche